INEC announces date for re-run election in 12 states

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed January 25 for the conduct of 28 court-ordered state, federal constituency and senatorial elections across 12 states of the federation.

Festus Okoye, National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education who disclosed this at the commission’s 51st regular meeting held at INEC Headquarters in Abuja.

Okoye said the rerun elections arose from petitions filed following the 2019 general election.

He said: “The Commission has decided to hold all the 28 outstanding court-ordered rerun elections on Saturday 25th January 2020. Further details of various activities and timelines will be published later.

“Consequently. there are 28 court-ordered elections still outstanding which are distributed across 12 States of the Federation. The break down comprises one Senatorial District out of 109. 12 Federal Constituencies out of 360 and 15 State Assembly Constituencies out of 991.

“In many of the cases, elections are to be rerun in only a few polling units. The Commission will make available further details of the affected areas, including the polling units on its website in due course

“Following the 2019 general elections, a total of 807 post-election petitions were filed at various tribunals, 582 of which were dismissed, while 183 were withdrawn by the petitioners.

“Out of the remaining 42, the tribunals ordered reruns in 30 and issuance of certificates of return in 12 cases.”

INEC announces date for re-run election in 12 states INEC announces date for re-run election in 12 states Reviewed by JNJ GLOBAL GIST on December 06, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

ismaeeelkwr. Theme images by Sookhee Lee. Powered by Blogger.